Inductee to the Polo Hall of Fame

Stephen A. Orthwein
Inducted February 18, 2011

In addition to having attained a six-goal handicap,
Steve Orthwein has devoted over 50 years of his
life to contributing to and supporting the sport of

He was the recipient of the Hugo Dalmar
sportsmanship award in 1988, and was been the Chairman of the USPA from 1991 – 1995; President from 1988 – 1991; and Secretary from 1984 to 1988.

He served numerous terms on the USPA International, Tournament, Rules and Rules Interpretation Committees as well as serving as
Chairman of the Umpire Committee from 1996 –2005. Steve also served as Chairman of the National Handicap Committee from 1988 – 1991, and represented the USPA on numerous committees and
official positions with the Federation of International Polo.

After having served on its board for many years, he served as Chairman of the Museum of Polo and Hall of Fame from 2001 until 2010.

As a player from a multigeneration polo family, he made his first national bones by leading his Yale University team to National Collegiate Polo Championships in 1967and 1968, and has gone on to win numerous additional tournament wins including the Monty Waterbury Cup in 1977, 1979 Butler Handicap, the 16-Goal championship in 1967.


Top of Page

© 2002 - 2006 Museum of Polo & Hall of Fame
Design by Siddha Sites